The University of Utah Campus

Our Vision

The Future of Dentistry: Transforming Scholarship into Leadership

Our Mission

The mission of the University of Utah's School of Dentistry is to improve the oral and overall health of the community through education, research and service based on:

  1. Academic excellence
  2. Exceptional, compassionate and innovative patient-centered care
  3. Research to advance knowledge and continually improve oral health 
  4. Community collaboration, enrichment and service
  5. Leadership


1980 - Regional Dental Education Program
  • The RDEP was a cooperative dental education program in collaboration with the University of Washington School of Dentistry (1980-1982) and Creighton University School of Dentistry (1983-2012).  It provided 10 Utah students with their first year of prorfessional dental training at the University of Utah.  This program was developed and administered by Dr. G. Lynn Powell, Assistant Dean for Dental Education in the University of Utah School of Medicine. With the inauguration of the new School of Dentistry, the RDEP program will be retired when the last RDEP students complete their education in 2016.

1983 - General Practice Residency at the University of Utah

  • In 1983, the GPR was inaugurated at the University Hospital.  The program initially had two, one-year residents under the direction of Dr. Jay A. Aldous.

2012 - University of Utah School of Dentistry

  • The School of Dentistry received its initial ADA accreditation and University approval in 2012 with Dr. G. Lynn Powell as founding dean.  The inaugural class of 20 students began their four-year program in August 2013.  Under the direction of Dr. Powell, the initial accreditation was accomplished without any ADA recommended changes.  The funding of the Noorda Oral Health Sciences Building was secured through Dr. Powell's efforts.